Header_Stephen Waarts


The Menuhin Competition Trust is a UK registered charity. Since 1983 it has consistently attracted some of the greatest violin talents from all over the world and brought them together in an exceptional atmosphere of learning and exchange. Dubbed ‘the Olympics of the Violin’, the Menuhin Competition is the world’s leading international competition for young violinists under the age of 22. Many of its prizewinners have gone on to successful international careers.


Yehudi Menuhin’s key to success was his excellent music education as a child and his ongoing dialogue and collaboration with fellow musicians. To enable young violinists from all over the world to have an equally enriching and stimulating environment, he founded the Gstaad Menuhin Festival in Gstaad (Switzerland) in 1957, the Yehudi Menuhin School in England in 1963, both the Menuhin Music Academy in Gstaad and Live Music Now in England in 1977, the Menuhin Competition in Folkestone (UK) in 1983 and the International Yehudi Menuhin Foundation in Brussels (Belgium) in 1991.

NCPA Beijing

The Menuhin Competition is traditionally invited by a host city or a host organisation and prior to the most recent editions it has been held in Cardiff (Wales), Oslo (Norway), Beijing (China) and Austin, TX (USA). It returned to the UK in 2016, taking place in London from 7-17 April 2016 to celebrate the centenary of Yehudi Menuhin’s birth, and was then held in Geneva (Switzerland) from 12-22 April 2018. The Menuhin Competition Richmond 2021 will take place virtually from 14-23 May 2021.

Following the Competition, the Trust does its best to support the prizewinners as they develop and grow. The Trust feels that in addition to prizes in the form of funds and instrumental loans it is very important to facilitate performance and development opportunities for the prizewinners to assist them as they begin to establish their careers.

To find out more about the previous editions of the Menuhin Competition, competitor feedback and the development opportunities that the Menuhin Competition Trust arranges for its prizewinners, please click here.