Philharmonia Orchestra / Esa-Pekka Salonen, 6 March 2013

17 April 2016 – Gala Concert

Philharmonia Orchestra
Diego Matheuz (conductor)
Julia Fischer (violin)*
Junior Competition winner (violin)**
Senior Competition winner (violin)***

Walton Coronation March, Crown Imperial
Vivaldi Concerto from The Four Seasons**
Concerto movement to be announced***
Bartók Violin Concerto No. 1*
Tchaikovsky Francesca da Rimini, Symphonic Fantasy after Dante Op. 32

To celebrate Yehudi Menuhin’s vibrant legacy the Philharmonia presents the winners of the Menuhin Competition 2016, alongside dazzling virtuoso and 1995 winner Julia Fischer playing Bartók’s haunting First Violin Concerto. Bartók admired Menuhin’s playing very much and in return benefited from Menuhin’s championing of his violin music. Tchaikovsky’s symphonic fantasia paints a graphic musical picture of Francesca da Rimini, a beauty who was immortalised in Dante’s Divine Comedy.

Supported by Misys

Royal Festival Hall, 19:30
Southbank Centre, Belvedere Rd, London SE1 8XX

£42 £33 £27 £22 £17 £14 £11 Signature seats £50; concessions available

Julia Fischer menuhin competition