Guro Kleven-Hagen-menuhin-competition

13 April 2016 – Senior section Semi-Finals

B. Bartok, Solo Sonata (first movement)
L. van Beethoven, String Trio in G major Op.9 No.1 (second movement, Adagio ma non tanto)
L. van Beethoven, String Trio in C minor Op.9 No.3 (second movement, Adagio con espressione)
G. Enescu, Impromptu concertant (1903)
One virtuoso work of the candidate’s own choice (max. length 10 minutes)

Nine Senior Semi-Finalists will play for their place in the coveted Senior Finals. This round is dedicated to Yehudi Menuhin and works intimately connected with him. These include Menuhin’s teacher George Enescu’s Impromptu Concertant and Béla Bartók’s solo sonata, a work commissioned and premiered by Yehudi Menuhin in 1943/44. This presents violinists with the challenges of the full gamut of techniques: multiple stops, artificial harmonics, left-hand pizzicato executed simultaneously with a melody played with the bow, and wide leaps between pitches. Each contestant’s recital will also include their choice of a Beethoven String Trio and a virtuoso work with or without piano. Audience may come and go in-between individual recitals.

For full repertoire information please click here and for the running order and live streaming link please click here.

Royal Academy of Music, Duke’s Hall, 10:00 – 17:00
Marylebone Road NW1 5HT

£5 morning and afternoon passes; concessions available

In concert menuhin competition